Your SEO optimized title page contents skip to Main Content
Elder Care Services – Determining Your Level Of Care

Elder Care Services – Determining Your Level of Care

The condition of the person seeking elder care services or nursing care is a critical factor in your choice of a long-term care facility. All skilled/intermediate care nursing facilities provide personal care and residential services, including rooms, meals, planned activities, and programming to meet social and spiritual needs. The levels of nursing and therapy services offered vary quite widely, and these should be carefully matched to the individual’s needs. The resident’s physician is involved regularly in the direction of a resident’s care. The nursing staff works with and keeps the resident’s physician updated on any changes in the resident.

Sheltered Care

People who are functionally independent but need some assistance in daily living require the care of a sheltered care facility (SC).

Sheltered care facilities emphasize the social needs of the individual rather than medical needs. Dietary and housekeeping services, medication monitoring, and leisure activities are the primary functions of these facilities.

Assisted Living

People who are mobile but may need assistance with one or two activities of daily living may require the services of an assisted living facility.

An assisted living facility is a congregate residential setting that provides or coordinates personal services, 24-hour supervision and (scheduled and unscheduled) assistance, activities, and health-related services; is designed to minimize the need to move; is designed to accommodate individual residents’ changing needs and preferences; is designed to maximize residents’ dignity, autonomy, privacy, independence, choice, and safety; and is designed to encourage family and community involvement.

Intermediate Care

People who need 24-hour nursing care by licensed nurses as prescribed by a physician require the attention of an intermediate care facility (ICF).

Rehabilitative programs, social services, and daily activities for persons not capable of fully independent living (such as persons who are convalescing or persons with chronic conditions which are not critical) are provided. Physical, occupational, and other therapies are also offered. This type of facility may be certified to participate in the Medicare and Medicaid program. Check with each facility.

Skilled Nursing Care

People who need 24-hour care require the care of a skilled nursing facility (SNF).

Registered Nurses (RN), Licensed Practical Nurses (LPN), and Certified Nurse Assistants (CNA) provide care and services prescribed by physicians with a heavy emphasis on medical nursing care. Social services, as well as physical, occupational, and other therapies, are provided. This type of facility may be certified to participate in the Medicare and Medicaid program. Check with each facility.


This is the "wpengine" admin user that our staff uses to gain access to your admin area to provide support and troubleshooting. It can only be accessed by a button in our secure log that auto generates a password and dumps that password after the staff member has logged in. We have taken extreme measures to ensure that our own user is not going to be misused to harm any of our clients sites.

Back To Top